Beavers Text

Please enter your details on our district join page. Houghton-Le-Spring Scout District manages membership enquiries on behalf of it's groups.

Group Info

1st Eppleton Scouts (Based Hetton-Le-Hole)
1st Fatfield Scouts (Based Fatfield)
1st Herrington Scouts (Based Herrington Burn)
1st Houghton Scouts (Based Houghton)
1st Washington Scouts (Based Washington Village)
3rd Washington Scouts (Based Oxclose and Concord)
4th Washington Scouts (Based Lambton)

See a map of our groups.

Beaver Scouts are young people usually aged between six and eight years old. They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scouting family. Young people can join Beaver Scouts in the three months leading up to their sixth birthday. They can move to the next Section, Cub Scouts, between seven years and six months and eight years six months.

Easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts, Beaver Scouts enjoy making friends, playing games, going on visits and helping others. They usually meet together once a week in a Beaver Scout Colony.

Some Beaver Scout Colonies also organise Sleepovers. These are often the first time a young person spends a night away from home. They take place in suitable buildings, often Scout centres.

Beaver doing crafts